> > Archive WhatsRecIceSkateProgram   [Printer Friendly]

Share this page:

What is the ISI Recreational Ice Skating Program?

ISI’s Recreational Ice Skating Program is used worldwide, has accepted standards, and has been developed for those who skate for recreation and enjoyment – for fun and pleasure. It appeals to first-time skaters because it teaches movements they can master almost immediately. It provides achievable objectives with immediate results, thus encouraging continued participation.

The ISI system of tests provides yardsticks for all skaters from the beginner to the most advanced. Attractive patches are available to recognize a skater’s achievements at every level of testing. These also serve as an incentive for the skater to continue skating.

The President’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports has rated ice skating as one of the best sports for maintaining physical fitness – and ice skating can be enjoyed for a lifetime. ISI skaters range in age from two to 80. Skaters agree that the healthy competition, the camaraderie, and the beauty of skating are what make this sport so special.

The initial ISI program was developed in 1961, and in 1963 the Alpha-Beta-Gamma Basic Skills tests were established. In 1965, the program grew to incorporate five freestyle and couple skating tests, plus nine ice dancing tests. Today, the ISI program has 80 different levels of tests for skaters of all ages and ability levels, thus encouraging skaters to develop their skills while enjoying skating as a lifetime sport.

The ISI Recreational Ice Skating Program encompasses sequential instruction and testing for the following levels:

• Tot (1-4 for preschoolers)

• Beginner (Pre-Alpha, Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta)

• Freestyle 1-10

• Figure Skating 1-10

• Couple Skating 1-10

• Pair Skating 1-10

• Ice Dancing 1-10

• Hockey 1-6

• Goaltender 1-4

• Speed Skating 1-5

• Special Skater 1-10